Why did FIFA put the six greatest Women’s World Cup matches of all time on the Nougat?

Great games in sports are exciting. They’re also emotional, and that’s just the beginning. A great, close game, where the outcome is unpredictable, gives you chills. It’s a natural reaction to watching a great game, win or lose.메이저놀이터

As the size of the battlefield grows, so does the excitement. The more you are mesmerized and immersed in the fiery battle, the more you feel excited, moved, and even shaken. It’s no wonder that the most popular sport on the planet, soccer, and the FIFA World Cup, which pits the world’s best against the world’s best, is so inspiring. The common thread that runs through every great game is a strong sense of vitality that lives on in the hearts and minds of fans.

In this context, FIFA has selected six of the most emotional Women’s World Cup semi-final matches of all time (see table) to take a look back at those moments. Ahead of the 2023 Women’s World Cup quarterfinals in Australia and New Zealand (May 15-16), this is a fascinating article on the FIFA Nougat Newsroom. It’s an initiative by FIFA to draw attention to the semi-finals of the tournament by highlighting six of the most memorable moments from the last eight tournaments that have captured the attention of soccer fans around the world and touched their hearts.

1991 China: USA 5-2 Germany

In the Women’s World Cup, which began in 1991, the United States boasts the most wins (four). That pride was nourished by the original tournament in China. And the nourishment came in the quarterfinals against Germany. Having won the UEFA Women’s European Championships more than four months earlier, Germany was a strong favorite, but instead became a casualty of the United States’ run to the top. Caryn Jennings was the star of the American upset. Her hat trick in a span of 23 minutes (10, 22, 33 in the first half) was the beginning and end of the victory.

“It was great to beat Germany, who were considered the No. 1 team in the world. The fact that it was in front of my fiancé (Jim, now my husband), who never comes to our other games, made it extra special.” (Jennings)

1995 Sweden: Norway 1-0 USA

Four years earlier, the two teams that had won the inaugural tournament, Norway and the United States, met again, with a different result. Norway avenged that defeat (1-2) with a 1-0 victory. A 10th minute goal by Ann Kristin Orrønes in the first half gave Norway a sweet victory. With momentum in their favor, the Norwegians went on to defeat the hosts, Germany, 2-0, and retain the FIFA Cup.

“I remember they hit the crossbar three times in the last few minutes. I think we were lucky. Maybe, the Americans didn’t feel that we stole the gold medal from them.” (Orronez)

USA 2003: Germany 3-0 USA

Germany hadn’t forgotten their humiliation 12 years earlier, and they got their revenge. The fact that it was on the home turf of the United States made it even sweeter. Kerstin Garefrekes’ header (15th minute) and a brilliant counter-attack in the second half of extra time (90+1, 90+3) sealed the 3-0 victory. The victory was a stepping stone to their first title after defeating Sweden (2-1) with a golden goal in extra time in the final. It was also a stinging defeat for the U.S., which had inflated its pride as the world’s best by winning the 1999 tournament on home soil for a second time four years earlier.

“It was a game where we kicked our own asses for 90 minutes. Germany outplayed us and outplayed us. Honestly, they were better than us that year.” (US defender Kate Markgraph)

China 2007: Brazil 4-0 USA

It was the greatest display of individual talent in Women’s World Cup history. Brazil’s Marta was the star of the show. The 21-year-old scored two goals to hand the United States a crushing defeat (0-4). In the tournament, Marta, who epitomized a generation of goalscorers, won the Golden Shoe (7 goals) and the Golden Ball. In the final, however, Marta was unable to find the back of the net and was forced to watch Germany lift their second FIFA Cup with the bitter taste of defeat (0-2).

“The game against the USA is my most memorable World Cup match. In that game, I scored what I consider the goal of my career. It’s a perfect memory that is etched in my heart.” (Marta)

Canada 2015: Japan 2-1 England

Japan came from behind to win. The goal that made the difference between victory and defeat was a bizarre own goal. In late stoppage time (90+2 minutes), England’s center back Laura Bassett scored the game-winner (2-1). Japan celebrated in victory. England, in the face of an unspeakable taunt from the gods, were devastated. Japan, who had been crowned champions four years earlier (in Germany 2011), had restored Asian soccer’s pride by reaching the final of two consecutive tournaments.

“After the game, I was heartbroken. I couldn’t control my emotions. I couldn’t breathe, my heart was pounding in my chest, and I wanted the ground to open up and swallow me whole.” (Bassett)

2019 France: USA 2-1 England

6 Women’s World Cup Classics The ‘regulars’ made another appearance. For the fifth time, the Americans played the starring role. England was the supporting cast that allowed the US to shine. The US scored two headers – Christine Press in the 9th minute and Alex Morgan in the 30th minute – to pull away from England (2-1). It was the moment that cleared the reef that had been lurking in their voyage to a fourth title. Morgan’s ‘tea-drinking’ goal celebration, which infuriated England, is still talked about today. Later in the game, England were unlucky to see Steph Houghton’s penalty saved by US GK Alyssa Naher.

“It’s really fun to tease the Brits because they react instantly and they get angry. It was a pretty funny goal.” (USA’s Megan Rapinoe)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *